Broaden your Knowledge. Widen your Horizons.

Know the Difference Between GHMC & HMDA

Any city can be called a well urbanized place only if it has an excellent infrastructure, well developed layout, good civic administration and proper civic services. One example of such a city is Hyderabad, one of the fastest growing cosmopolitan and metropolitan cities of India.



1.The City of Pearls

2.Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC)

  2.1. MCH  to  GHMC

  2.2. Jurisdiction of GHMC

  2.3. Responsibilities of GHMC

3.Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority (HMDA)

  3.1. HMDA Extended Draft Master Plan

  3.2.  Functions of HMDA


1. The City of Pearls

Hyderabad, the ‘City of Nawabs’ and also known as the ‘City of pearls’ is the capital, most populous and the largest city of Telangana. It is one of the important metropolitan cities of India. It is a hub of trade and commerce and an international center for information and technology (IT). Hyderabad with its twin city Secunderabad is developing into a major real estate hotspot and the future of this ‘City of Pearls’ looks bright and promising. 

Information and Technology has boomed in Hyderabad along with various growth initiatives and has driven the economic growth over the last few years. Various initiatives by the government are also attracting major investments, thus raising the standard of the city to great heights. A major chunk of development is also contributed by real estate. Considering the area of Hyderabad, it is inexplicably larger than any urban center in the state. Now the question arises – Who takes care of such a vast city, its civic services, civic administration, infrastructure planning and layout development of the area. There are broadly two bodies that take care of the city. One is Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) and the other is Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority (HMDA). Let’s know the differences, objectives and functions of these two bodies.


2. Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC)

GHMC was formed in 2007 by merging Municipal Corporation of Hyderabad (MCH) and 12 other municipalities. Prior to this, MCH – a local body was functioning for both Hyderabad and Secunderabad.

2.1. MCH  to  GHMC :

This was formed in 1955 under the act of Hyderabad Municipal Corporation and covered only 173 Maintaining streets, public health, sanitation, laying roads etc. were the major functions of MCH. It had to provide better amenities to the citizens and was divided into 4 zones, 7 circles and 100 wards. MCH as a municipal body had to provide civic as well as infrastructure facilities to the citizens of the twin cities. It was headed by a Mayor who had very few executive powers while all the powers were vested with the Municipal Commissioner. Later in 2007, MCH was merged with 12 other municipalities to form GHMC. 

Though the functions and duties of both the bodies remained the same, GHMC has a much larger jurisdiction than MCH. Now GHMC covers an area of 626 With the expansion of city limits and formation of GHMC, the surrounding areas of Hyderabad that are under the course of development also should have better facilities similar to the citizens of the main city. This was the main intention of forming GHMC. 

2.2. Jurisdiction of GHMC :

Together with MCH and 12 other municipalities, the jurisdiction of GHMC is quite vast. It comprises of all the areas that were under the above mentioned municipalities and 8 gram panchayats of Ranga reddy and Medak districts. GHMC is divided into 5 zones – north, south, east, west and central, 18 circles and 150 wards ;  for the better functioning of the body. GHMC is headed by a Municipal Commissioner who should be an IAS officer. He exercises the executive power of the house.

2.3. Responsibilities of GHMC :

GHMC administers and provides basic infrastructure to the city in coordination with various other government organizations and delivers the basic urban services. It has the following responsibilities : 

       i. Urban development and city planning of new areas

       ii. Disposal of garbage and cleanliness of streets

       iii. Building and maintenance of roads, streets and flyovers

       iv. Public Municipal Schools

       v. Street lighting

       vi. Maintenance of parks and open spaces

       vii. Registration of births and deaths

       viii. Health and Sanitation


3. Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority (HMDA)

This is an urban planning body formed in 2008 by merging the existing bodies – Hyderabad Urban Development Authority (HUDA) , Hyderabad Airport Development Authority (HADA) , Cyberabad Development Authority (CDA), and Buddha Purnima Project Authority (BPPA). HMDA is an urban, high power planning body formed in 2008. It was set up to plan, co-ordinate, supervise, promote and secure the planned development of Hyderabad Metropolitan Region. It coordinates the development activities of the Municipal Corporations, municipalities and other local authorities, the Hyderabad Metropolitan Water Supply and Sewerage board, The Telangana Transmission Corporation, the Telangana Industrial Infrastructure Corporation, the Telangana State Road Transport Corporation and other such bodies. It is the second largest urban development area in India. It is chaired by the Chief Minister of Telangana.

3.1. HMDA Extended Draft Master Plan :

In 2011, an additional area of 5965 was covered under the Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Plan. The total area as per the extended Master Plan is as follows :

      i. Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority (HMDA) – 5018

      ii. Outer Ring Road Growth Corridor – 330

      iii. Parts outside ORR of previous HUDA – 432

      iv. Previous Hyderabad Airport Development Authority – 185 

Presently HMDA  is spread over 7,257 covering 7 districts, 70 mandals, 1032 villages including GHMC. HMDA is an authority for planning and development of the area.  This plan includes many new areas from Ranga Reddy, Medak, Nalgonda and Mahbubnagar districts. As per the new master plan the Hyderabad Metropolitan Region extends as follows : 

       i. Tooran on North along NH-7

      ii. Bhongir on the East along the NH-202

      iii. Choutuppal on South-East along NH-9

      iv. Yacharam on South along the Nagarjunasagar State Highway

      v. Kandukur along the Srisailam State Highway

      vi. Shadnagar on South-West along the NH-7

      vii. Chevella and Aloor along the Vikarabad State Highway

     viii. Sangareddy (Medak district) on the West along the NH-9

3.2. Functions of HMDA :

The following are the functions of HMDA:

       i. To give approval of land utilization for various purposes

       ii. To give layout and building approvals

       iii. To prepare master plan for areas under its control and limits

       iv. To propose and execute urban development projects directly or through local authorities


4. Conclusion

The difference between GHMC and HMDA is made clear with the information supplied above. GHMC and HMDA are the only authorized issuing authorities for any building or layout activity in and around Hyderabad. GHMC is mainly for Municipal related activities whereas HMDA is for planning the city. GHMC is divided into 5 zones, 18 circles and 150 wards and is headed by a Commissioner and a Special Commissioner; both of them have to be IAS. Each ward would cover 37,000 people.  One needs to take approvals from both the bodies to start a project. HMDA approval details and RERA registration number are the basic things that are to be checked before buying a plotted development. HMDA approval means infrastructure development is guaranteed.



Pallavi Krishna


– Written By Pallavi Krishna

Fill up so we can catch up!

We'd love to hear from you